Years ago, I heard the Irish Tenors sing "Isle of Hope, Isle of Tears." It moved me to tears. It also made me wonder what life was like for young Annie Moore, the first person to sign in at Ellis Island when it opened on January 1, 1892. According to what I can find, she brought her two little brothers with her from Ireland to meet their parents in New York City. I wonder why she was the first to sign in. How did she get to be first in line? Was she chosen? Was it just the order the line came in from the ship? My imagination took over. I wrote a short story which I may later turn into a full novel. I took some liberties and created a story around her. It is published on The Cypress Times under Mail Ordered Once - Twice Blessed. This links to Part I, but if you click on my name it will take you to the list of my other works. There you can find Part II. Tomorrow I will post Part III.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or comments. You may leave them here on my blog or on the story. Thanks for reading!



Leave a Reply.