I am still so excited with my Cusinart coffee grinder!  My secret pal from school gave me some great gifts throughout the year but I have to say my favorite has been the coffee grinder and a bag of Starbucks coffee beans.  The smell of that freshly ground coffee could sustain me for the day!  Sadly, my bag is almost empty.

                Throughout the school year, I have been drinking another brand which I brewed in the classroom.  I have to say that many of my students appreciated the fragrance of freshly brewed coffee first thing in the morning.  But if I purchased coffee, it was from the Dunkin’ Donuts right around the corner from my house.  I started off the school year buying a small coffee.  By October, I graduated to a medium and by Christmas it advanced to a large.  I maintained that status until March when an extra-large became inevitable. By May, I was bringing an extra-large to school and brewing my own.  One morning as I made my java run, I jokingly asked the young man what the next size up from the extra-large was.  Without missing a beat, he replied, “A box of joe.”  I laughed all the way to school.  Oh no! Not a whole box of coffee!

                For tax day in April, several companies gave away free product.  Starbucks offered free house blend coffee if you brought your own travel mug.  I dug out the largest travel mug we owned (it just happened to be a DD mug!) and left a few minutes early for school. They willingly filled the huge cup and I grinned all the way to school. I sipped on it all morning, making it last as long as possible.  By 9:30 my second period ninth grade Earth Science class seemed to be concentrating more than usual on taking notes.  Most were writing furiously while some just stared at me with that deer-in-the-headlights stare. Usually when I see that, I allow a brief side-track to give them a chance to catch up. So I launched into a sixty second gleeful explanation of my free Starbucks coffee.  One of my students raised her hand and asked, “Is it stronger than DD?” Puzzled by the question, I told her a little bit and asked why she wanted to know.  Her reply gave me giggles for days.  “Because you’re talking so fast we can’t keep up with you.”  Okay, so maybe I need to cut back on the caffeine.

                Are you a coffee drinker?  What is your favorite coffee brand? 




Leave a Reply.