It has been two weeks since I emailed out my first thirty pages to a perspective agent, but just a little more than a week since I mailed out two packages to two more perspective agents.  The waiting is the most difficult part. 

When I first started seeking an agent, I knew it would take time.  According to my calculations, it would take at least 6 months to find an agent, then another 2-3 months working on mailing edits back and forth to each other.  From there, I figured it would be at least a year for the agent to find a publisher.  Another few months while my work went back and forth for polishing, then another 6-8 months until actual publication.  So if you're any good at math, that would mean it would be at least 2 1/2 to 3 years before my book ever sees a book cover or bookstore shelf. 

Many writers make the mistake of not understanding this timeline.  I believe that is what discourages more writers than any other aspect of the business.  Enter the game with your eyes wide open.  You're less likely to be hit unexpectedly or crash headlong into something!

Keep writing!

Christine




Leave a Reply.