Like most people, I don't handle rejection well. So waiting for agents to return a polite "no thank you" has upped my dosage of medication for my acid reflux. Today I received the nicest rejection letter ever! I think I've received about 30 all together for my first book Somewhere Down the Road and my current book The Road to Nowhere. (We could really analyze those titles, but let's stick to the topic.) Here's what he said:

     "Unfortunately it has been decided that yours [proposal] is not what we are looking for at this time.
     Yours is one of those easy reading and flowing stories that publishers are looking for. But there are some craft issues that should be addressed.
         [He lists three areas.]
     Consider overhauling the story development and try again. You have a great writing voice. If you don't know where to turn you might want to hire an outside editor like Susan May Warren."

     One of the issues he lists I've already been working on with - wait for it - Susan May Warren!  How cool is that! I am so excited about being rejected right now. I am also extremely grateful we have off from school this week. I had planned on working on some other areas of writing, but they will have to wait now. I don't want to rush through this, but I believe I could finish it in two weeks. So away I go! If you don't hear from me any time soon, just check to make sure I've done more than drink coffee.

2/26/2011 04:56:52 am

Hi, Christine! I noticed in your comments at Seekerville that you've been a Christian school teacher for 20 years. I've had the privilege of teaching in Christian high schools for the past 25 years. So I just had to hop over here to visit the blog of a fellow teacher!

I began writing Christian fiction during the last two years and am working with a mentor through ACFW. I began blogging in August 2010 because it seemed like that's what wannabe writers do. Little did I know what a blessing it would be to "meet" so many like-minded folks out here in the bloggy world! I enjoyed reading through your most recent posts. Congrats on being published!

I'll be back again to visit in future. Blessings!

Reply
Christine
2/26/2011 05:18:44 am

Welcome Renee! I'm so glad you stopped by. I recently joined ACFW at the suggestion of several writers I'm working with. I suggest you join My Book Therapy. Susan May Warren is fantastic and so is her team. They have been such a great help and encouragement to me. I've learned so much!

Stop by any time!

Reply



Leave a Reply.